BIG W Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Pope Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450

Start shopping now for great Christmas deals on Lawnmowers, Trimmers & Blowers at everyday low prices from BIG W
Average Customer Rating:
3.812 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
11 out of 16(69%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Review 1 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
xMIZZYx
Location: Gold Coast
Gender: female
Age: 30-39
Date:November 22, 2011
Awesome mower for an awesome price!
My girlfriend and I both bought one of these mowers and couldn't be happier with the ease of assembly (only have to put the handles on!), price and what a great job it does on the grass! The catcher doesn't seem huge but it holds a LOT of clippings, very surprised. I would DEFINITELY recommend this mower. And it has a 4 stroke Briggs & Stratton engine, ya can't go wrong!!
185 of 195 found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
indo
Gender: female
Age: 19-29
Date:September 17, 2013
Not female friendly
Pretty peeved off with this lawn mower and would of returned it had it not been used once already. Bought this home hubby started it up fine mowed the front and back with no problems. every time since I have tried to start it, it does nothing, I have to wait for my husband to come home to start it for me (I am doing it right but musnt be able to pull the cord fast enough). I have used heaps of lawn mowers over the years and never had a problem starting them, or starting a boat motor for that matter which is the same. I have resorted to borrowing the father in laws mower which is a 20 year old briggs and stratton which I have no problems starting
1 of 3 found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wazer
Location: wa
Gender: male
Age: 30-39
Date:January 2, 2013
mowme
For the price awesome product doesn't leak petrol cuts perfect engine runs like a Ferrari
1 of 4 found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Southby
Location: Pakenham
Gender: male
Age: 40-49
Date:December 22, 2012
Still Going
I have had a the same model 118C Pope mower for the about 4 years and it's still going strong.
My house block is just under 900M sq so I have a big lawn area. My neighbor loaned it today after his $400 Bunnings lawn mower died after 3 years. He borrowed mine and is now buying a Pope.
Value for money!
5 of 6 found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
JonLaw
Location: Sydney
Gender: male
Age: 30-39
Date:September 15, 2012
Tinny and very poor quality
I purchased this on the strength Big W's good reviews which I'm beginning to think were bogus. This machine is simply awful, bad design and manufacture. Catcher far too small, and it scuff's the ground if lawn is slightly uneven. Front canopy hits the ground often and the grass cutter height adjustment is not subtle: it goes from a light touch to giving your lawn a 'skinhead' cut in one adjustment. There's a reason Big W have reduced the price of this awful mower by 20%.
12 of 15 found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
aljade
Location: Quilpie
Gender: male
Age: 50-59
Date:May 28, 2012
Pope Lawnmowers
I have one and it has cost me more in repairs in the first 9 months from faulty parts and Pope won't answer my calls or do anything about it.
Purchased in 2009, used a dozen times and has not worked since.
26 of 28 found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chook67
Location: Adelaide
Gender: male
Age: 40-49
Date:April 28, 2012
What do you expect for $250 bucks?
Hi just bought the Pope lawn mower this morning and cut front and back lawns this arvo, great lawn mower, easy to set up and easy to use. The 4 stroke motor doesn't miss a beat even under the longest grass, and moves around the yard with ease. The only down fall I can see is the catcher could be bigger ( doesn't take long to fill up compared to the old Victa ) but for $250 bucks you can't go wrong.
10 of 11 found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
popeme
Gender: male
Age: 30-39
Date:February 23, 2012
to pope lawn or not?
yes do pope lawn, its cheap but you pay for what you get. its true sturdy, and starts every single pull on the chord. a word of warning do NOT over fill the oil chamber, i did, it flooded and i had to remove the oil, very bad experience!.
7 of 9 found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pope
Location: padstow 2211
Gender: male
Age: 40-49
Date:February 18, 2012
Great product
Hi Guys i have had one of these mowers for 8 years and had no problem with it put one new plug in it and that's it so happy with it ....( it wore out today and im off to BIG W tomorrow to buy a new one happy mowing :-)
8 of 10 found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Brisbane
Gender: male
Age: 19-29
Date:February 14, 2012
Could make an ok boat anchor
Cheap all round had it set up by a mower mechanic oiled run in and oil changed (cost nearly as much as the bloody mower! I bought this 12.5 months ago to use in between when the mower guy comes. It has been used 3-4 times and then on the weekend it blew up and stated spewing out oil from the gaskets. It is a price of junk it had been looked after perfectly. Do not waste your time buy a second hand Honda!
9 of 18 found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
whatthe
Location: Forbes
Gender: female
Age: 30-39
Date:January 8, 2012
Great mower, cheap lawn catcher
Easy to start mower with great safety features. Cheap flimsy catcher ( shade cloth like bag with a bit of plastic around the edge) At first the catcher wasn't a big problem, but now it's 6 months old the plastic strip on the buttom of the catcher doesn't stay in the right spot and after one or two strips it doesn't pick up the clippings.
21 of 21 found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
h3nz
Gender: male
Age: 30-39
Date:March 12, 2011
Excellent buy
I have used this mower a few times now, and I'm very happy with it. My lawn was overgrown, weedy, and strewn with twigs from a nearby tree. The mower went through it all effortlessly.
It was easy to assemble, and once put together it feels quite sturdy. The cutting height is easily adjustable, and the catcher works well and is easy to empty. It isn't any noisier than you'd expect it to be.
80 of 85 found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Burt
Date:March 2, 2011
testimony.
I did not even know the Pope manufactured garden equipment but he is clearly blessed when it comes to creating fine pieces of lawn care equipment. Whether you are mowing a suburban yard or whacking round the grounds of the Vatican this mower seems quite capable and is definitely good value. I would happily mow all the way to Bethlehem with mine and it should meet any of your grass lopping needs.
One thing to note though is that the Pope has not shipped any engine oil with his mower aon this occasion and you will need to purchase a 1 liter chalice of genuine Briggs & Stratton oil separately before bringing the mower to life.
Overall a very nice mower, would be a great gift for Easter.
86 of 89 found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sherbet26
Location: Brisbane
Gender: female
Age: 40-49
Date:January 15, 2011
Great value for money
I agree with the last review. At times due to weather conditions I need to mow long grass and this mower does it without difficulty. It is easy to use and operate. I looked at a variety of mowers at different retailers and Big W continues to be my favourite in quality and price.
74 of 79 found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Anonymous
Location: Queensland, Australia
Gender: female
Age: 19-29
Date:December 27, 2010
The best $250 i have ever spent!
i brought this mower as mine had broken down... by the time i got it my lawn was nearly 5 feet tall in some parts... i thought that it would have some trouble with it but it cut it like a hot knife through butter... it was easy to start and it seems like it pushes it self, it is great on fuel and oil... i could not believe it... it was the best $250 i have ever spent!
104 of 106 found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Pope Aurora Lawnmower 101PM450
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
RuthE
Location: Essendon North
Gender: female
Age: 40-49
Date:December 4, 2010
Pope Aurora Lawnmower - 101PM450
Great Lawn Mower, Easy to Start, which i was a bit worried about.
very good value for money. I'm really happy with the mower.
157 of 165 found this review helpful.